Reliable sources tell me that you can’t go from sofa to 10K without some training. Seeing as I can’t even run to my fridge without having to stop and catch my breath; I’m going to have to learn.

I’m following the Runners World Beginners ‘Get-Started Schedule’. It promises to teach me how to run continuously for 30 minutes in just 8 weeks. After that I don’t know what I’m going to do. But one thing at a time.

To complete this programme I have to run at least three times a week and follow the run-walk schedule below.

The Schedule

  • Week 1 Run one min, walk 90 seconds. Repeat eight times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 2 Run two mins, walk one min. Repeat seven times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 3 Run three mins walk one mins. Repeat six times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 4 Run five mins, walk two mins. Repeat four times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 5 Run eight mins, walk two mins. Repeat three times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 6 Run 12 mins, walk one min. Repeat three times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 7 Run 15 mins, walk one min, Run fifteen mins. Do three times a week
  • Week 8 Run 30 mins continuously.

Apparently, after this I’m a runner!

I’m running on behalf of the National Children’s Bureau. Donate here!

Photo courtesy of Neeta Lind.

