The schedule:

  • Week 3 Run three mins walk one mins. Repeat six times. Do three times a week.

I was apprehensive about running for three minutes. I found running for one minute easy, two acceptable, but three? Surely that’s inhumane!

During the first three minute run I couldn’t believe how long three minutes was. When I thought my stopwatch should have read 3 minutes 20 seconds it actually said 1 minute 30 seconds. Luckily the other 1 minute 30 seconds wasn’t too bad.

The third run saw the return of boredom.  I hadn’t felt boredom when running since Week 1. I guess I miss Week 2’s setting; the Welsh countryside.

During the fourth run I started to tap my fingertips together to keep myself occupied.

By the fifth run I was telling myself that I wouldn’t stop unless I collapsed. I considered this pushing myself, instead of medically unadvisable thinking, and it worked; I finished the three minutes. For the first time ever I sat down during the walking time.

Run six, mentally should have been easier because I knew it was the last run, but my body was aching lots. I’ve never felt so much pain after completing one of these sets. As I was walking home my left leg refused to lift up on several occasions and I almost tripped a few times. And, around 10 pm I noticed an ache at the front of my chest. My flatmate told me it was a good thing. I think I will consult Google.

I’m running on behalf of the National Children’s Bureau. Donate here!

Photo courtesy of Rennett Stowe.

