• Week 3 Run three mins walk one mins. Repeat six times. Do three times a week.

I can’t believe it, day 2 was not as bad a day 1! My body remembered what it did on day 1 and didn’t resist so much the second time. Also, I didn’t feel as much pain afterwards; I could walk home without almost falling over a million times. Hurray!

On past  days I have always thought about my breathing, in particular that it’s not deep enough. Today, I purposely told myself to stop thinking about it; to prevent myself from  making it worse. Well it worked! During each three minute run I didn’t start noticing my breathing until the two minute mark, when it would begin to get wheezy. But by the two minute mark, I only had a minute left so I just got on with it. I’m pleased my breathing is improving. It was my biggest problem.

Oh, and guess what? I did this run at 8am on a Sunday morning! Sounds crazy I know, but the light and peacefulness of the morning was too beautiful to resist. The canal path was quiet and the ducks were starting to wake up. This is as close to the Welsh countryside as I’m going to get in London.

I’m running on behalf of the National Children’s Bureau. Donate here!

Photo courtesy of Tobyotter.

