• Week 4 Run five mins, walk two mins. Repeat four times. Do three times a week.

I was dreading running for five minutes straight (here and here). I really syked myself out. I had to force myself to go out and run. This evening the weather was rubbish and I just wanted dinner! Instead I ate a yogurt (I heard you shouldn’t eat anything heavy before you run), put my kit on and warmed up.

Surprisingly running for five minutes wasn’t that much more painful than running three.  I knew how long three minutes felt like and at which point of the track I would be at. Usually, I managed to not look at watch until two and a half minutes; which was good because then I knew I was half way through.

I think running along the same track is a blessing and a curse. A blessing because I know roughly where I will get to in a certain amount of time. But a curse because I know how far away that point is!

I was also told that when running you body will reach a point where it just cruises. I didn’t entirely experience cruise control  during this run (!) but I could see that running for an extra two minutes wasn’t that much tougher (except on the fourth run, when I started to breath quite heavily).

I also heard that you need to be consistent in your training. Which is another reason I forced myself out of the house; I didn’t want to break my routine and lose the work I had put in over the last three weeks.  I think it worked as the leap to five minutes wasn’t that humongous. So running is getting a bit easier.

But, oh my god, when I finished I was dead. Seriously dead. I could walk, which was an improvement on this run, but I had a stitch, tripped over and I didn’t have the will power to warm down. I didn’t warm down until five minutes later (usually I do it immediately). Also, later in the evening I realised my shoulders and my chest hurt.

Something  I noticed during this run regarding breathing, is that it just sorts its self out. How handy is that! When your body needs more oxygen it will make sure it gets it via panting, and when it doesn’t you won’t really notice your breathing. Genius! I don’t need to worry anymore.

Last, during the first half of the run there was light rain so I wore a rain coat with the hood up. Dear god do hoods make a rustling sound or what! I was glad when the rain ended. Another crap thing about rain is that it produces puddles which can be as wide as the path your running along. I had to choose between running through them, risking wet shoes, or running around them, risking muddy shoes from the grass verge; six and two threes basically, neither were great outcomes.

I’m running on behalf of the National Children’s Bureau. Donate here!

Photo courtesy of potzuyoko.

