• Week 4 Run five mins, walk two mins. Repeat four times. Do three times a week.

Despite going to bed late, waking up early and doing a full day at work , I really looked forward to running this evening. To me this sounds like the definition of crazy!

I don’t know why, but for some reason, I was looking forward to running even though it was raining and I was tired. Maybe it was because I read ‘100 reasons you should work out today’ which had inspired me to make a list of reasons why I like running. Or maybe it was because I hadn’t run in 4 days. Or maybe because I had eaten a lot of chocolate over the weekend and wanted to burn it off! I don’t know exactly, but I hope it sticks, and to be honest I think it will, especially as my run today went really well.

I have been reading tips for running 5K, 10K and marathons. One tip which keeps coming up is run slowly at the start. I also got a comment on this post about panting indicating that I maybe running too fast. So today, day 2 of week 4, I decided to run slow. At first I worried about what others thought about me running so slowly. But I got over it and realised how much less my breathing hurt and how much less exhausted I felt. After the fourth five minutes I didn’t feel like dying (!) like I did here. In fact I kept running for another one minute and thirty seconds! I know, crazy!

The only thing I didn’t like about running slowly was that I noticed pain in my legs. Maybe because I wasn’t being distracted by heavy breathing anymore! Or maybe, it could be to do with my footwear. I’m going to look at trainers online and hopefully find a pair that suit me.

I’m running on behalf of the National Children’s Bureau. Donate here!

Photo courtesy of bradhoc.

