• Week 5 Run eight mins, walk two mins. Repeat three times. Do three times a week.

Today, I received my Nike+ sensor in the post! I couldn’t wait to try it out. I put it in the little shoe pouch my mum bought me last week (photo) and started my second run of week 5.

The first 8 minute run was a little sketchy because the path was loitered with bikes, pedestrians,  a camera crew and puddles. I couldn’t wait for it to be over! It was my fault though as I started my run later than usual. Usually, I start at 6pm but today I didn’t start until 7pm. Other than that the run was fine.

The second 8 minute run had the same issues; puddles, bikes and pedestrians. The only highlight was being greeted by two teenagers who were sat on a wall. As I ran passed we exchanged hellos and well wishes.

The third 8 minute run was less painful as there were fewer nuisances. And as I was running back home I passed the teenagers again so we said hello again. By this time my feet and legs began to ache. I really need to investigate the cause of this. Candidates so far include: footfall, trainers and an old injury.

My Nike+ sensor stats for the last run are:

Minutes: 8:25

Distance: 0.78 miles

Pace: 10’46” per mile

The other two runs were similar. But I’ve not included them as the stats included the 2 minute walks as well. The above stats just measure me running.

I’m quite pleased with the data. Running a mile in 10 minutes will mean I will finish the 10K somewhere between 1hour – 1.5hours (hopefully). Over the next two months I’ll try and improve my pace, but at the moment my focus is on being able to run 10K!

I’m running on behalf of the National Children’s Bureau. Donate here!

Photo courtesy of moi!

