• Week 5 Run eight mins, walk two mins. Repeat three times. Do three times a week.

I know I’m meant to have a day off in between runs, but I really fancied going out this evening. Incredibly, the sun was shining (!) for the second day in a row! For those not based in the UK, we’ve had rain all day, every day for the last two weeks. So I went out.

In fact, I was so keen to go running that I left the house without my stopwatch. All wasn’t lost though as I could use my phone instead. The only drawback was I couldn’t time the two minute breaks because I was using the Nike+ App to record my running stats. I think I guessed the two minute breaks adequately enough though.

As for the runs, they weren’t my greatest. I ran too fast during the first 8 minute run, which made me feel tired sooner than I did in day 2 and day 1 of week 5. I was going to title this post ‘Girl interrupted’ because of the number of times I had to speed up or slow down for people/bikes. It wasn’t as bad as yesterday’s run but it was enough to make me consider other places where I could run. I would like to find a less crowded path. I’m ruling out side streets though because while they have fewer people/bikes I would have to stop at roads and look both ways properly, which I’m not convinced I’d do!

Stats

Duration: 25 minutes and 4 seconds

Miles: 2.39

Pace: 10’29″/mile

I feel good about these stats. I think (, hope and pray) 2 miles is just under a third of 10K, because 10K in miles is 6.2. So I’ve only got to triple what I can do at the moment, and that can’t be too hard can it?!

I start Week 6, not tomorrow – I will rest, but the day after. Week 6 sees me run 12 minutes three times. I’m not worried but I’m aware that time doesn’t fly as fast as I think it does! During my third 8 minute run today, I got over confident thinking I have run for at least 15 minutes, when in actual fact I had only run for 7 minutes and 45 seconds!

I’m running on behalf of the National Children’s Bureau. Donate here!

Photo courtesy of LucidLab.

