• Week 6 Run 12 mins, walk one min. Repeat three times. Do three times a week.

I didn’t feeling like running today. I was exhausted from a lack of sleep and had been scoffing chocolate all afternoon. However, I was keen not to let this ruin my schedule. So I set myself a challenge. As noted before I love challenges. So I challenged myself to run tired and on a full stomach! Now this may sound crazy to some people, but it motivated me to at least try. I knew that if I failed there was a good reason, namely tiredness and chocolate, and not because I couldn’t do it.

Before I left the house I checked the programme for Week 6. To my horror the walking breaks were only 1 minute unlike Week 4 and 5! I was mortified but planned to stick to them. Before leaving the house I also warmed up. To my surprise I started to feel less tired after warming up! It was quite weird. Perhaps warming up had released some chemicals that made me feel more awake? I don’t know but I liked it.

I started the first 12 minute run very slowly. So slowly in fact, that I thought it was too slow, and that people probably thought I was crazy. But I had to blank those thoughts out. I knew that if I was going to run for 12 minutes three times I couldn’t tire myself out during the first run.

My pace was 11’17” per mile, which is the slowest that I have run using Nike+. I was definitely being cautious! But I really didn’t want to fail Week 6. The 1 minute break flew by.

The second 12 minute run went fine. I picked up the pace a little bit, but not much; 10’55”. I started to feel a fleeting pain in my right thigh a little above my knee and my right ankle was aching. I don’t think I distribute my weight evenly. I’ll have to look into it.

On the third 12 minute run I picked things up even more, 10’32”, knowing I was finished once it was done. My nose was seriously running by the time I finished. I’ve not mentioned it before, mainly because it’s not very glamorous, but my nose always runs when I run; weird!

So I completed my challenge. It is possible for me to run when feeling tired and full. And I didn’t feel particularly dead afterwards. I felt more tired than after my last run and I knew I wouldn’t be able to skip a warm down this time, but overall for running a total of 36 minutes I felt fine. During and after my run I thought “this running thing is quite enjoyable”.

I’m running on behalf of the National Children’s Bureau. Donate here!

Photo courtesy of Therese Tjernström.

