• Week 7 Run 15 mins, walk one min, Run fifteen mins. Do three times a week

Today I started Week 7 even though my body didn’t feel 100% relaxed. Yesterday, I ran and went on a 7 mile walk, but the weather was pleasant and it’s a bank holiday, so I wanted to get outside.

Side note: I read this week’s programme incorrectly. I thought I had to run 15 minutes three times, not just twice! I didn’t realise this until after I had run! I’m not upset about it because I managed to pull it off. But I did feel dead afterwards!

The first two 15 minute runs were plagued with self doubt. I thought I was going to stop at any moment! I was scared about running for 15 minutes three times and about getting thirsty when I didn’t have any water on me.

I don’t carry water. I haven’t been running long enough distances to require it. However, I always worry what if I was desperate for some mid-run? Would I drink from the canal? Would I then get Cholera?

Now that I’m starting to run longer distances, I’m thinking about my water vessel options. Some runners carry a water bottle (not for me, I like free hands), some have a belt (maybe), some have a camel pack (I used to have one when I used to hike). I like to run with as few items as possible and the idea of a belt or a camel pack worry me. I might get annoyed by their presence. But then I want water! I have some tough decisions ahead.

So my stats for today’s run were:

Distance: 4.45 miles

Time: 45:36

Pace: 10’13”

I’m pleased with these stats. I’m only 2 miles of 10K! I think in a couple of weeks I should be able to do it. Then I can focus on doing it faster!!

I’m running on behalf of the National Children’s Bureau. Donate here!

Photos courtesy of Mohit Khurana.

