On the 27th March 2012 I started the Runner’s World beginners running programme. It involved:

  • Week 1 Run one min, walk 90 seconds. Repeat eight times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 2 Run two mins, walk one min. Repeat seven times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 3 Run three mins walk one mins. Repeat six times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 4 Run five mins, walk two mins. Repeat four times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 5 Run eight mins, walk two mins. Repeat three times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 6 Run 12 mins, walk one min. Repeat three times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 7 Run 15 mins, walk one min, Run fifteen mins. Do three times a week
  • Week 8 Run 30 mins continuously.

At the time, I wasn’t convinced that I would be able to complete the programme. But I gave it a go because I had signed up to do the British 10k London run for charity.

There were difficulties along the way, including painful breathing and bleeding toes! And at first I hated running. But I did it! And started to love running!

In Week 7 and 8 I even did more running than I was meant too! In week 7 I ran 15 minutes three times, on three days. And in Week 8 I ran for 45 minutes on the last two days. Click here to see the days I ran on over the last 8 weeks.

What now?

Now, I need to increase my running time. I am going to go for 1 hour next week. You see 45 minutes, for me, is 4.3 miles and 10K is 6.2 miles. So I need to run an extra 2 miles. This will take me just over an hour. So in Week 9 I will aim for three one hour runs, and then in Week 10 I will aim for three 75 minute runs.

Here is how my last run of the programme went:

I thought running for 45 minutes would be easy like it was the first time. It wasn’t. From the second I started running my breathing hurt. I wasn’t running faster than the first time. I think it was because I was ill on Friday. I guess I hadn’t recovered completely.

I must have looked at my watch a million times. Instead of “whoa! it’s been 27 minutes already!”, I was thinking: “God, it’s only been 9 minutes” followed by “i­­­­­t’s only been 11 minutes!” followed by “it’s only been 12 and a half minutes!” It was like this for the whole 45 minutes. I managed to fight through it; but it wasn’t pretty.

Again, my knees really hurt afterwards. It’s odd how they don’t hurt whilst I’m running but the second I stop the pain kicks in. And it is quite a bit of pain.

Anyway, at least now I have finished the programme! Yay! 8 weeks ago I couldn’t run and now I can! Week 1 involved running 1 minute eight times. Now, 8 weeks later, I can run for 45 minutes straight. It is amazing how quickly you can pick things up! I definitely recommend the programme. It gradually builds up each week and it only asks you to run 3 times a week.

Sponsor me here!

Photo courtesy of Robbie Biller.

