When I'm not running I'm usually drumming.
I don’t have any photos of my running with music. So here is one of me making it 🙂

I’ve never run with music before because I like to run with as little stuff as possible. Usually I just take my keys, tissue and my watch. I’ve even been known to leave my keys under the doormat so that there was one less item to run with. However, since hearing raving reviews from colleagues and friends at the last two running events I did (namely the British 10k and the National Lottery Anniversary Run), I thought I’d give it a go.

I’ll be honest I was a bit apprehensive. I worried that I wouldn’t like the playlist I made. I thought I’d constantly be stopping and starting; changing songs and adjusting volume levels. However, all went well. YAY!

I used my 1st generation iPod (it looks and weighs like a brick), which I haven’t put new music on in at least  3 years, because the audio jack on my phone is broken. However, I think that helped. It meant all the songs on it I hadn’t heard in ages and were favourites. I was miming along. I think if I ran in a more secluded area I would sing along.

I think the music helped me run for longer. It left no space in my brain for moaning. I also think it made me run faster.

For safety I only had one ear phone in. I left the other one out so I could hear what was going on around me, e.g. bikes and drunk people.

On another note. I so did not feel like going running this evening. I came home and watched some TV. Then I started to listen to music and that’s when I thought let’s see what running with music is like. However, when I came home I felt great, well first I felt awful – thirsty, sweaty, tired – but then I felt great. And by great I mean I could watch TV guilt free because I’d been for a run! Haha

Last, at lunch time I did some research into schedules for half marathons because I have one in two months. Dear god is all I’ve got to say. This is what I read:

“Many beginners find running a half to be life-changing”

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

Peace Out

P.S

Don’t forget to pray for my on Oct 6th – my life is going to change apparently.

