Goodbye legs

I’m sadden to receive your resignation letter but it comes as no surprise

you carried an overweight person through a half marathon

the morning began with an argument with the right foot

and the right knee resigned 3 miles from the finish

the warm up this morning did nothing but irritate the left leg

and the ice packs at home didn’t substitute for a proper post run stretch

to add insult to injury you ran 13 miles and all you got for it was a crappy wooden medal

obviously the person you’ve been carrying since birth didn’t prep enough and didn’t investigate the quality of the medals before signing up

so, understandable you want to quit

Well goodbye legs, it’s been fun.

Above is the first poem I’ve written since 2007*. I wrote the poem a few hours after the half marathon. I wanted to write a blog post but I didn’t have the energy, so I wrote a poem instead. Don’t let the poem put you off running, or off running the Royal Parks Half Marathon. Just see it as me feeling sorry for myself and trying to lighten the pity party with a bit of humour.

*Not to make myself sound like a poet or anything, as I’ve only written one poem before, and that was the poem in 2007.  The poem I wrote in 2007 was an apology poem. I borrowed a friend’s pack of Uno cards and didn’t return them for over three months. That might not sound like a big deal but we lived in the same student accommodation, which meant it would have taken me less than 5 minutes to return them. So it kind of was a big deal and I felt the only way to apologies was through a funny poem. I think I’ve got a copy of the poem at home. When I next go back I’ll look for it.

