Last weekend did not go to plan in the slightest and it’s all Mercury’s fault.

MR_way

Last November I saw a post on Facebook (above) about Mercury retrograde. I’d never heard of the term before so promptly consulted Google. Twenty minutes later I had a PhD in Astrology and knew inside out the effects of Mercury retrograde (or MR as we say in the trade) and how to mitigate them.

My only oversight was not noting down the occurrence of MR. Unfortunately for Earth it’s pretty often and last several weeks at a time. Right now Earth is experiencing MR and has been for weeks. #InitiateMassPanickingIn 5, 4, 3, 2, Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

Now, it’s time I removed my Dr Astrology cap and gown and get to the bread-and-butter of this blog, namely swimming. Basically what I’m trying to say is – I woke up late. Due to no fault of my own, at all, whatsoever, and due entirely to MR, I was super lazy come morning on Saturday 15th February. I had planned to get to the pool at 9am but as a consequence of MR, I didn’t get there until 12.30pm. #Ooops

Ze swim*

The swim itself was successful. I did 90 lengths – the most I’ve ever done – in 90 minutes. Despite being only 10 lengths away it didn’t cross my mind to try and cross the 100 mark. I was exhausted, especially after doing some lengths at full speed.

Weekly total

Saturday was my third swim of the week after having swam on Tuesday and Thursday. Adding up all three swims I swam 210 lengths, or 6,510 metres, this week! #Boom

Extra stuff

The pool conditions were ideal – there was practically no one there. For the majority of the time it was only me and one other person in the lane and at the most there were 4 of us.

My hat still failed me but other than that no complaints!

Go on, reach for your wallet!

I’m swimming 5km on Sunday 23rd March for Sport Relief which is a charity that helps people in the UK and abroad. Please help me reach my target of raising £300 by sponsoring me here. I am 70% of the way there. A humongous thank you to everyone who has donated so far.

* French for ‘The swim’.

* 210 lengths x 31m length pool = 6,510m.

