2weeks

On Monday 24th March I handed in my notice at work. I’ve been working very happily there for 3.5 years but it’s time for an adventure.

My options post employment included:

1. Volunteering for the FIFA World Cup in Brazil
2. Being a ceremonies volunteer for the Glasgow Commonwealth Games (read my post about the audition)
3. Backpacking around Asia.

The first week after I handed in my notice was a bit depressing. I still hadn’t heard anything back from option 1 or 2, and in 7 weeks I would have no income. Ek!

Luckily I needn’t stay sad for long as the second week brought incredible news. FIFA offered me a volunteer role! I immediately accepted the role. My role is Accreditation at the Arena Amazonia in Manaus, Brazil.

Arena Amazonia
Arena Amazonia

Planning

wile_e_coyote_hanging_by_a_thread_post_cards-r088921155ce0455d9680cfb8f17ee2e4_vgbaq_8byvr_512

The first few days of planning were a nightmare and I was literally hanging on by a thread. When people asked how it was going I couldn’t talk about it – which isn’t like me at all! I was one million per cent stressed. There wasn’t enough time after work to plan. I was surviving on 5 hours sleep or less.

As soon as the weekend rolled around I went to a travel agent and asked them to sort my flights out for me. Then I booked my first two weeks of accommodation. I’d have booked more but the prices go up drastically in June. In May my bed costs £8 then from the 1st of June the same bed goes up to £87 per night! I’m hoping once I’m out there I will meet some other volunteers and we will find a cheaper solution together.

Route

As I’m flying all the way out there I’m going to stay for a while. The plane tickets cost a lot and I’ve not been abroad since 2008. My plan is to volunteer in Manaus then backpack around Columbia, Ecuador, Peru, Chile, Argentina, Paraguay, Uruguay and then go back to Brazil for the Rio carnival. In all I will be gone for 10 months.

If you want to join me for any part of the trip, know of places I can volunteer at, or have contacts in any of these countries who can show me around their town or put me up for the night please let me know.

Making extra money

Money soon started flying out of my bank account. I had to think of ways to make some extra money before I left. I remembered a friend, named Sarah, who is relocating to Manchester and said she was planning on selling some of her clothes. So I thought I’d do the same. At first it was hard to let go but then I realised I’m away for 10 months and hopefully when I come back I’ll be smaller! So I took 10 dress to brick lane and crossed my fingers. Sadly the second hand shop I had in mind had closed down. So instead I’m planning on doing a car boot tomorrow (Sunday) with my mum.

60% complete

Everything is gradually coming together. I’ve renewed my passport. Booked my flights. Booked my first two weeks of accommodation. Started packing. All that’s left is sorting out injections and buying travel insurance. Yippee!!

The UK

Sadly I leave behind incredible people (you reading this!), incredible groups (Vision, The Legacy, PDs, POD) and incredible opportunities (Wembley! Millennium Stadium!). But I will be back, and whilst I’m gone I will blog and post updates to facebook.

I miss you all already! I will try and organise a goodbye party before I leave. So keep an eye out.

Take care,

Lettice

@LetticeTravels

