I'm going to...

Hey you! I’m really excited to tell you that I’m going on another adventure. To find out what, where, when, why, how (but not necessarily in that order) keep reading 🙂

Also, I’ve hidden a whooping 40 Madonna single titles in this post. See if you can spot them and tell me how many you find in the comments below 🙂

Where

I love London and the life I’ve built there. I especially love my friends, dance classes, choirs, and drumming group. However, I just can’t seem to get back into the groove of it.

My original plan for 2016 was to work in London from January to July, volunteer at the Rio Olympics/Paralympics in Brazil over the summer, then travel around Argentina and Chile for the rest of the year.

But alas, that plan is miles away now. Please don’t cry for me Argentina but I’ve had to jump at another opportunity – that of volunteering overseas again. Basically another suitcase in another hall.

I'm going to... Austria

One week ago I was offered a volunteer placement in… hold tight… Austria! One week ago I couldn’t point to Austria on a map, but now after watching numerous videos on YouTube, I’m more than a little excited to go to Austria, and… don’t tell me… I know Austria’s eight neighbouring countries. My only hope is that the weather is better in Austria than in the UK. In the UK there is lots of rain and I’m constantly frozen.

How

Whilst applying for jobs in London I also submitted several applications for European Voluntary Service (EVS). Like a prayer I was hoping my lucky star would shine on me – and it did! Not long after applying my inbox was burning up with an invitation to a Skype interview.

The interview felt no longer than 4 minutes. In reality it was more like 20 minutes but either way it felt short for a role I really wanted. Normally an interview that length would be a bad sign, e.g. you didn’t express yourself enough, however in this case, considering the language barrier and both ends having already received information about each other, there wasn’t a lot left to talk about, except the office dog! Yes, office dog. Hello heaven! Nothing really matters except dogs!

Luckily, like a ray of light, the following day I received an email offering me the role. I was so excited to be offered one more chance to volunteer overseas. My celebration involved calling my mum whilst getting on a bus as this kind of news had to be transmitted via phone as soon as possible. #Obviously

What

My volunteer placement is at a youth information centre. My role involves event planning, website editing, social media, magazine editing, and there’s room for me to create my own project too.

When

The placement is for 6 months starting in February.

Why

know it

I love volunteering. It’s fun, I get to try things I wouldn’t normally, I meet lots of nice people, I learn new skills and I put into practice existing skills.

I love travelling. I caught the travelling bug through Girl Guides. First, it was just the outdoor/camping bug but then it grew into the fully fledged travelling bug. Now it seems I can’t stay in the UK for more than a few weeks these days!

One size doesn’t fit all. I’m thankful my mum supported my idea to apply for EVS. When I asked her what she thought she said I didn’t have to get a job – I just thought I had to because it’s human nature to think after university you have to get a job and work full-time until retirement.

I’m still working on my masterpiece. For now my plan is to keep causing a commotion and buck the trend. I’m not a bad girl, a girl gone wild, or a gambler but I cherish volunteering and travelling deeper and deeper with each voyage.

 

worth it

I’m no fool. I know volunteering isn’t a holiday. During my volunteer placement in Nigeria I worked 6-7 days a week. But thankfully I’m not a material girl, subscribed to Vogue magazine, who get’s hung up on not having a disposable income. So I will turn up the radio and start living for love one more time!

The power of goodbye

madonna crying

So hopefully I can keep it together over the next 6 months and you won’t need to rescue me. My only concern is learning German. I’m not sure if I’ll be disciplined enough. Although I watched a video that said if you stop speaking English and only speak the language you want to learn after three months you’ll be fluent. So daumen drücken!

Sorry to friends and family that I haven’t seen in a long time. I think about you often – I’m just never located anywhere near you! I might as well be in Hollywood or La Isla Bonita. Hopefully we can get together again soon. But for now it’s bye bye baby.

Everybody can volunteer

links

Feel free to open your heart to volunteering at home or overseas. Below are some links to get you started.

Bitch I’m Madonna

It all started when I typed “get into the groove”. Then I thought how many other Madonna single titles can I get into this blog post? Before I knew it – it was 3.40am and I had weaved 40 single titles in! Tell me the number you found in the comments below. Take a look at Madonna’s singles directory on Wikipedia.

Questions

If you have any questions feel free to ask my in the comments below, on Twitter or on Facebook.

Tschüsss!

Lettice 🙂

