Servus,

This week was filled with Bärlouch, bike riding and Easter!

On Wednesday 23rd March, my mentor Alex took me Bärlouch picking. Bärlouch, called Wild Garlic in English, is a popular herb available in Spring. We picked Bärlouch in the woods along the River Traisen and then made it into a pesto using oil and salt. The entire process was simple and lead to a really tasty pesto perfect for pasta. Here is my video explaining how to make Bärlouch pesto:

On Saturday 26th March, I attended a “fasten break” party for the first time. A fasten break party is to celebrate the end of Lent. It was inspiring to see how many people gave up a luxury for 40 days. I also discovered that I like cycling. To get to and from the party I cycled 16km through the countryside which was really scenic and relaxing.

On Sunday 27th March, my colleague Georgina invited me to join her and her family for Easter. It was lovely to meet her family and see how they celebrate Easter. We had a delicious Easter brunch and went for a 3 hour hike. During the hike I saw how beautiful the Austrian landscape is and on my way home, a 15km cycle along the River Traisen, I saw deer and rabbits!

On Thursday 31st March I am interviewing Georgina about her voluntary work on my new radio show; Volunteer Stories. You can listen to Volunteer Stories online at 2pm (GMT) on the second and fourth Thursday of every month, or by tuning it FM 94.4 if you live in St. Pölten, Austria.

Danke fürs Lesen!

Tschüss Baba,

Lettice

