I’ve been back in the UK less than 48 hours and I already miss Austria! Thanks to Jugend:info Nö, Campus and City Radio 94.4 and the other great people I met, my European Voluntary Service (EVS) experience was fantastic. I would do it all again in a heartbeat, and if you want to contribute to a project, make new friends, learn new skills and visit a new places I highly recommend you try EVS too.

Without further ado here is my final week in Austria:

Sunday 3rd July I visited Lilienfeld to go on a hike with my friend George. We also looked around the abbey, grave yard and played on outdoor instruments – which I think we intended for children but are great fun for adults too!

On Tuesday 5th July I went for a swim at the lake which was fun. The water was finally warm enough to swim in the only problem was my arms got tired quickly as I hadn’t swam in ages.

On Wednesday 6th July I edited a future episode of Volunteer Stories with a volunteer called Calum. Calum has done lots of volunteering including sports, jam making, international development and admin. I also went for another swim in the lake!

St Poelten lake
The lake!

Thursday 7th July I had my last live radio show. I interviewed Arun, an EVS volunteer, from India who has lots of experience volunteering with children and likes making films. You can listen toArun’s interview here.

vs-ep-9
Arun and I at Campus & City Radio 94.4

Friday 8th July I spent doing admin tasks such as closing my bank account and cancelling my residency.

Saturday 9th July I attended “Splash Hard” festival at the lake. It was a brilliant event as I got to try paddle boarding for the first time and there were three bands that each played great music.

lake festival in St Poelten
Splash Hard festival. See if you can spot me!

Sunday was reserved for packing and cleaning the flat, which took a lot longer than expected, and on Monday I left Austria after 6 incredible months!

Sadly, this is the end of my EVS experience in Austria. Thank you for your support and following my journey. My last piece of work will be an article about volunteering which will be published in 1424 Magazin. To follow what I do next look for updates on my personal blog.

Danke furs lessen.

Tschüss baba,

Lettice

